Poet of Fall

Hot versus Cold

Posted in Life by vien88 on November 11, 2008
How I look like when typing this

How I look like when typing this

It’s 3.30 am. And I’m in a dimly lit room slurping some mushroom soup.

I can’t sleep. The heat of the night is worse than the heat rays of the sun during the day. Nights are usually cool. But lately nights are always humid and hot. Even if I feel sleepy, the discomfort of being drenched in sweat disturbs my precious time to retire. But I was probably even more disturbed when I received a certain provoking text message which I’d rather not discuss here (curious? Ask me personally then).

I have no problems with the Malaysian warm tropical climate. Really. But what makes me crave for air-conditioner is the effect of Global Warming. Speaking of which, they say the warming of the earth is caused by human activities. The truth is, the Earth itself is emitting heat into the atmosphere. Human activity only contributes in speeding it up. Furthermore, the distance between the planet(s) and the sun are not always constant in every century. I forgot the whole explanation and I’m not in the mood to look up for it.

Lecture halls are installed with air-conditioner. Long-sleeved T-shirt and a jacket is not enough to keep me warm. I find myself unable to concentrate in class because of the cold. I focused to much in trying to keep myself warm, thinking of getting the hell out of the hall and my brain seem to have froze. (it gets even worse when I have a flu) I keep dreaming of buying a scarf and a pair of gloves just for this. I wonder how these lightly clothed people survive in such low temperature. I joked around saying “S-sejuk la. Susah la nak study oversea camni…” My coursemate Rodi responded “cheh macam layak je” LOL damn you Rodi… Aminkan je la! hwaha aku maafkan la. time2 exam camni.

Class ends, and we all step out of the hall, immediately embraced by the warm outdoor wheather. And that’s when I finally appreciate the ‘heat’ of Malaysian climate. Now I am wondering how I would survive in cooler climates if I ever continue studying for my Masters or PhD abroad. Am I the only one too sensitive to coldness?

Usually I wake up for Subuh prayers welcomed by the cool morning dew, and start sneezing non-stop. First time experiencing this, I thought I was coming down with a fever. But during noon there were no signs of apparent illness. Nowadays, I do not wake up sneezing. I wake up smelling a stench of what seems like mixed evaporated sweat odours….and in damped T-shirt. Speed of fan is turned to maximum (but the fan wind does not directly hit me and my bed). So I know it’s not a normal wheather if I do not start off my morning with sneezes >:|

Anyway, whenever I start experiencing hot wheathers, I try my best not to complain so much. Maybe I whine a little, but I wouldn’t get angry over it (it’s not like we can control the temperature). So I think positive…. let’s see… One day, we (Muslims) are going to perform our Hajj in Mecca. and Saudi Arabia is a freakin’ desert, the climate there is possibly even hotter than Malaysia. Here at least we have humidity and some rain. Setting foot on the holy land, you have to “watch what you’re saying” (there’s this story of a woman who grumbled about the heat, and all of a sudden she unconciously removed her clothing. That thought is scary). So I thought, why not train yourself not to complain too much while you’re in the homeland? It’s a good practice to prepare ourselves for the pilgrimage. Lol wow, I’m getting all optimistic and spiritual.😄

…and don’t get me started with the afterlife stuff.😛

Sometimes I fantasize studying or staying in seasonal countries. And I wonder if I’ll start missing my homeland if I ever do stay there (a lot of students studying overseas misses Malaysia, particularly the FOOD). I wonder if my nose can tolerate the autumn breeze, I wonder if my cold receptors are excessive till winter days numbs me.

Sigh, I should be using this time to study this extremely difficult subject. Ah perfect, it’s 4.08 AM, Linkin Park’s Leave out All the Rest is on air. What a perfect song for this very mood.

Laters.

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. vien88 said, on November 12, 2008 at 1:41 am

    i sneezed this morning. all is well😄

  2. kazu said, on November 12, 2008 at 2:56 am

    oh crap. I sneezed this morning. 3 times lol

    anyway that’s true. My school always hot all day, nak cool kena duduk kat belakang because 2 of 3 fans rosak (damn schoolkid, dahlah nak merosakkan harta sekolah, orang lain kena susah)

    Oh man, I wish our country more like America or Japan. D:

  3. vien88 said, on November 12, 2008 at 3:04 am

    NEIN!!

    it’s fine this way… u have not experienced the freezing hell of lecture halls!

  4. manamana said, on November 12, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    i love L. he’s sexy >///>

  5. kazu said, on November 12, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    @VN well I do have experienced the freezing -_-”

    everytime we have class, our teacher told us we all went to bilik media and… guess what? Our teacher set low temperatures which mean those room feel cold like we having winter -_-

  6. vien88 said, on November 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    mana: must do this moar often >////>

    kazu: LOL except there’s no snow to play with😄

  7. deady said, on November 12, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    aku banyak kali masuk tandas kalo hari sejuk lalalala ..
    :3

  8. kazu said, on November 13, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    LOL deady, hang pi toilet pasal xD

    tandas bukannya panas pun.. melainkan toilet kat luar ho ho ho ho ho


Leave a Reply

